Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: How to find out of size of existing model?

How to find out of size of existing model? 4 months 3 weeks ago #5262

• BB
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi!

I am new to delftship. I have a delftship model someone else designed (fbm format). Now - sorry for this simple question - my problem is that I cannot determine how large the boat actually is. I know that at the end it was cutted and its a model, so something like 30cm times 90cm. How can I determine this in delftship?

And in general: Where can I set the size of a model in delftship?

When I have an existing model: Can I just change the size to a larger size, lets say it should be 40 times 100cm and Delftship does everything else automatically? Can I set the length to another size (e.g. 100cm) and Delftship automatically calculates the correct width to keep the scaling of the original model correct?

Thanks for your help!
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to find out of size of existing model? 4 months 3 weeks ago #5263

• BB
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi,

I now found an answer to my question: I choose the view "Top". Then I click on control net. Then I mark the single lines and at the bottom it then displays the sum of all the marked lines as edge length. This is my length in m.

How to find out of size of existing model? 4 months 2 weeks ago #5267

• Icare
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 20
Hi BB!

Excuse me for the delay.

My answers will be based upon the old version I use, but I assume it didn't really changed...

1. What's the model's size?
You can find the model's stats you're interested in under the last tab "Calculation & extensions" then "Design hydrostatics".
Among the very first data you'll alight on "Design length/beam" (length/width decided before drawing... because sometimes you may change your mind :whistle: ), "Length over all" (actual length of the drawing), "maximum beam" (actual width).